This recipe isn’t in the Aussie cookbook, but is something we make pretty regularly here. The idea was initially to save a little money, but over time it’s mostly become about making a meal that isn’t jam-packed full of sugar. Plus, oats! What’s not to like.

You’ll need:

Oats, maybe four cups

Dried fruits, pretty much whatever you’re into (and won’t break the bank)

Dried coconut

Seeds; pumpkin, sesame, sunflower. You get the picture

Vegetable oil

A sweetener. We use a golden syrup, but you could use honey (if it wasn’t so damn expensive), or malt. Even brown sugar could do.

So this recipe is pretty straightforward. Toast the oats in the oven, toast the seeds on the stovetop, and chop the fruits. Here we go.

The way I usually swing this is to heat the oven to around 150C. Then, put your oats into an oven dish, and add the oil and golden syrup.

Once you have those on, pop the whole shebang into the oven. The idea is to dry that stuff out. So stir it frequently to make sure it’s not burning around the edges.

While the oats are cooking start cutting up your dried fruit. Like I say, use whatever you like. The purpose of this exercise is to make the muesli you really like. We’ve tried a few different combinations, but usually end up settling on raisins, dates, dried papaya, and dried pineapple. Today we’re getting adventurous and adding some pre-cut apricots. I suppose you could also try dried banana, apples, peaches, mango, whatever the heck you want.

Depending on how confident you are multitasking, you can also toast your seeds. The only trick is to heat them really slowly. I put them in a pan, toss then often, and keep and eye on they while I’m cutting up the fruit.

And let me ask you a question. Are you remembering to turn the oats?!

As you can see, they start to colour as the oil and golden syrup toast, so stir frequently. But not too frequently

By now you should have all your ingredients ready.

The next stage is to begin combining them. Toasting the coconut in the pan is possible, but I find I get a better result if I add it to the oats late in the piece. In this case the raisins I bought were a little dicey, so I heated them to get rid of the some of the sugar on them.

Once the coconut and the oats are toasted, combine it all! A side-note is that Chef Du Plunge doesn’t really dig all the seeds. This means I usually separate out a supply for him, then compile the ‘adult’ version for myself and Second Chef. Works well for everyone.

Voila! Muesli. I usually enjoy this oat milk.

