2008 was a monumental year in many ways, with a change of job, the obvious wee addition, and a story brewing about how we found him. It’s bound to be a doozy.

My overall impression though is the speed with which 2008 breezed past. One minute I was settling back into work wishing I had gotten away from Wellington for the Christmas break, and the next I knew I was settling back into Christmas again. Crazy. They say the years get faster as one ages, but this was ridiculous. In fact, just this morning Second Chef pointed out that in January we had dinner with the uncle of Deborah, and that seems like yesterday. Amazing.

The main gift of 2008 was a lot of learning. I kicked off a project with a workmate and Mike Riversdale, and it steamed along until we needed to start finding money, and it was a learning curve like no other. I’d like to take time to thank Don Christie at Catalyst IT for the support he was able to give, including some sterling advice about companies. The main thing there was that many many ideas fail in their first six months, and lead to the MayDay manifesto, which I’m sticking to, and which I want to further develop this year.

But of course, all these things take time, which is rapidly disappearing into the ether that is caring for an infant. Who would have it any other way though? After careful deliberation Second Chef and I decided to cast the dice and see who came along.  And he is the apple. I was talking with a workmate who complained (but only a little) about his children, and I lightly admonished him by pointing out something that had been irking me for years, that at least he would never know the emptiness of a life ended without knowing who your children might have been, or who they could become.

There’s something in the river of our lives that needs continuation, and I’ll work hard to gather enough stories to write more of Falling, Folding Paper, or at least bring a conclusion to that child in the field. I knocked off a couple of other twenty-year-old resolutions this year, so that one should be kicked along until I complete it.

Likewise! After realising that I should give up on trying to write fiction, because, well, I’m not very good at it, I might take an old lecturer’s advice and start on a children’s story. A friend has recommended an illustrator of children’s books, and I already have two or three little stories lined up. Perhaps that could be an opportunity to finally publish something.

And lastly, I’m promising to try and complete the *.PDF of the Object Dart cookbook. When Second Chef is able to free up time I’m going to encourage her to put those fabulous publishing skills to use and set me up a master template, which I will dutifully fill with the recipes I’ve put online.

So, here we are on the other side, waiting to see how the road rises to meet our feet. And a fine old journey it will be.

