My first association on seeing this film was with Knocked Up, entirely on account of the moral conundrum of a woman in a position of having a child to “a guy she’s not in a committed relationship with”. I dunno if it’s just that I’m noticing it more, but it seems like these films are a dime a dozen these days.

The main difference was that Knocked Up is a formulaic romantic comedy, and Juno is a quirky number. Personally I identify more with the latter.

The story is simple. 16-year-old girl gets pregnant, decides to adopt the baby instead of aborting it. It is the American heartland after all. Naturally this leads to several dramas and numerous characters discover their actual wants. And that’s about it.

But the characters are so charming it’s hard not to like them, and with them the film. Juno’s parents for one. They should be role models for everyone. It makes me glad to think people are still writing accepting and open characters, because drama queens are like, so frickin annoying.

Finally, the soundtrack is great. The Mouldy Peaches haven’t been on my playlist for a fair old while now. I can see I’m going to have to drag them back out of the collection and onto the MP3 player.

