I think I won’t be brave and say that I’m the only person who’s seen this film and disliked it. For starters, it would be a lie.

I’ll not give too much away, but if you haven’t figured out that the fantasy aspect of the tale is a young girls escapism from the horrors of the last days of the Spanish civil war then you’re obviously not paying enough attention.

And it’s the most brilliant piece of escapism. I’ll not go into detail too much, other than to say that it’s a fascinating story with many layers, excellent acting, great cinematography, amazing fx, blah blah blah.

So. What did I enjoy most? The symbolism. Efelia (the young girl), is Spain. An innocent who is drawn into a fight much larger than herself, and who must deal with it as she can. I wish I could say more than that, but worry about giving too much of the story away. Plus, I keep thinking of small details in the film that I hadn’t paid too much attention to before.

Great. Just go see it (and be warned about the violence. It’s not for the squeamish).

