Masala potatoes are a dish I’m making a lot these days to accompany a curry I take to work for lunch. I had to cut bread out of my diet, and needed something starchy, but not too starchy to keep me awake during the afternoon. These are basically just ghee, spices, and par-boiled spuds, so they’re an easy something to whip up on sunday night before the week starts.

So, you’ll need:

  • some parboiled small or new season spuds
  • a couple of tablespoons of ghee (or just plain old butter if it’s all you have)
  • tbsp of tumeric
  • 2-3cm of ginger
  • tbsp-ish of cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp of chilli powder, or a couple of fresh chillis
  • a pinch of asafoetida

From here it’s easy

The first thing to do is the slice the ginger, then chop it very finely. Some say to peel the skin, but I like it left on.

While you’re chopping it, the ghee should be melting over a low to medium heat. Enough to melt the ghee, but not enough to make it pop or burn.

Once the ghee is hot, add a generous pinch of asafoetida. You can buy this stuff at Indian spice stores and it has a… unique smell. It’s not too bad if you keep it in an airtight container. It’s also very good for the gut, cuts down flatulence, and generally does great things.

The asafoetida will start to pop a little, and once it does get your ginger in there and stir it in along with the tablespoon of cumin seeds.

Stir that all, then get the chilli in.

And then the boiled spuds. Now, I didn’t include instructions for those. If you’re having trouble, mention it in the comments and I’ll put them up.

The next step is the important one. Use a large spoon and turn the potatoes in the butter and spices. Really coat everything well, but don’t damage the spuds. You want them intact.

OK. Now my favourite bit. Add the tablespoon of tumeric, then stir the whole lot in again so the potatoes become a golden yellow.

And there you have it. Masala potatoes. I portion them into threes because they fit into the containers I have. The only problem is that they reheat really badly. Microwaves do terrible things to spuds. But, they taste great cold! I reheat the curry, then just pop these on the side.

Awesome.

