Well, the stranger sitting next to me in the cinema seemed to think this was the funniest film in creation. I’m not convinced. Death at a Funeral is a slightly formulaic comedy set in a stately home somewhere in England. The patriarch has passed on, and the family is gathering to bid him farewell.

Then, introduce a gay dwarf and a pile of LSD, and make comedy…

Don’t get me wrong though, there were some genuine laughs in there, but on average the film was laid out on a bell curve of “intro, laughs, crisis, laughs, redemption, warm ending”.

I’ll you one thing though, when it comes down to it, some things are just plain funny,poo and fart jokes being among them. On the other hand, if you don’t like your humour slightly raw, slightly predictable, and ultimately hard-case, then this is not the film for you.

God she was laughing alot… it was like sitting next to a tickle-me-elmo.

