And 2007 was. It’s not been a half bad year really, which I’ll now indulge myself in, with the traditional “blogger’s round-up”.

Late 2006 saw me finally make that move into my very-own digs in Mt. Cook, and wasn’t that a stupid decision. The flat I chose (on a quiet sunny day) turned out to be noisy, damp, cold AND dark. Terrific. Consequently when 2nd Chef and I were ‘just looking’ at places to move in together, and we found our place on Cuba St, I just at it. She had made it adequately clear that she was not to be living in Mt. Cook where you could all too clearly hear the girls upstairs taking a tinkle.

So a win-win situation there. We’ve been here since February, and it’s great.

2007 also saw me settle into a new job with a new segment of the bureaucracy, and it’s not too bad either. The work is busy, interesting and only occasionally stressful. There is plenty of room for career advancement in areas I’m interested in, and there may well be a jump to a new role late in 2008. Will keep you posted.

In blogging, I entered the year sans Club Politique. But… I couldn’t stay away for long, and was soon writing here, the Wellingtonista, and a brief stint at Lively (not to mention a dabble with fiction over at The Fault). And not to forget regular podcasting and posting at The Dropkicks! She’s been a busy year on this front. We’ll have to put it down to losing TV when I moved to Mt. Cook. One has to do something with all the time they save.

And how could I forget!  I also had some minor heart surgery, which finally let me get on with life. As it was merely walking up short flights of stairs would blimmin exhaust me. And now I have no excuse to not get back in shape. So I don’t make them… [thanks to Richard for the reminder]

All in all the year hasn’t been too bad then. These were some big changes for me, and have definitely taught me to branch into new habits. Getting back into reading was a major one. I’ve read something like 40 novels this year, and all that reading, combined with all that writing has shown me something quite important. I’m not a very good writer.

Now, I know that some people loved Club Politique. But I’m realising that blogging and writing are two very different things. This is especially the case with the constraints of the Public Service Code of Conduct weighting upon me. I can’t blog to the extent I’d like to, and my fiction is just a bit bloody ordinary. It’s proving rather frustrating.

It would be nice to just forget about the writing and just faff around on this year’s other big event, absolutely everyone getting onto Facebook, but I’m compelled to write things. Which leaves me in a bit of a tricky position. I can’t blog. But I can’t actually write.

I’m thinking that this will be the year’s conundrum for me. How to breathe a little life back into my keyboard, but without jeopardising the sweet deal I have in other parts of the real world…

So, Bon Vie everyone. Here’s hoping you have a very happy new year, and wishing you all the best.

