This was a recommendation from a friend, and it was about 2 chapters in that I realised I must have read it as school(?).

The Star Diaries is the accumulated tales of cosmonaut Ijon Tichy, and his travels across the galaxy. Unfortunately, I didn’t finish them before they started to get a tad annoying.

Not to say that they’re bad stories! It’s more that they’re kind of ‘whimsical’, but are probably badly translated from the original Polish. Plus, they’re mostly satire of communism, which I have no experience of, and only recognised because of the study of politics. Not all communist satire mind you, just mostly.

I did get a few giggles out of it, but otherwise? Might go back to reading about Buddhist detectives! I’ve also hear tell of a story about a mafiosa¬† with tourettes.

